This feature will definitely simply the sharing process and will come as a boon for events and journey enthusiasts!
So you and your college buddies went for a road-trip together. And this being the gadget age, all of you had your own smartphones/digi-cams and DSLRs to click pictures with. Now, the best way to share these images is uploading them on Facebook and tagging everyone. However, what if you could have just one album where you could compile pictures clicked by everyone instead of having multiple albums on each profile? Shared albums sound pretty cool, don’t they?
Facebook has done just that with their latest albums feature. Introducing shared albums definitely makes it easier for users on Facebook to collaborate and add images from different sources and people in one place.
So far, Facebook users could upload their pictures only in their own albums or post images to a friend’s wall/comments. In order to share pictures, users could either tag friends/pages or use the special URL appearing below the album/image to share it with non-friends or the public. Shared albums iron out those issues as multiple friends on Facebook can create and add photos to just one album.
The contributors can add, edit and view images in the shared album. However, the visibility can be adjusted only by the album creator and not the contributors. You might want to decide on privacy settings before creating a shared album.
There are mainly three privacy settings provided by Facebook for shared albums:- Contributors Only:
Only contributors and people tagged in images can see the photos- Friends of Contributors:
Contributors, people tagged and the friends of people tagged can view the images- Public:
The shared album can be viewed by anyone on Facebook
Facebook also posts a disclaimer below the shared album sharing pointers stating: Keep in mind that when you tag someone, that photo will be shared with the person tagged and their friends. This means that if you haven't already included their friends in the audience, their friends will now be able to see it. For example, if you tag Jane in a photo shared with your friends, the audience expands to Friends (+) to include your friends and Jane's.
Contributors can not just add or edit photos but even add other contributors to the album. So the network of people in your shared album keeps expanding. Users can add a maximum of 50 contributors to a shared album. The creator of the album can add or delete photos/contributors but an individual contributor cannot delete other contributor’s images from the album. Also, if a contributor is deleted, his/her images continue to be a part of the album till those are individually deleted too. A contributor can still access his own pictures added even after he is deleted from the album. He cannot modify them, though he can delete his picture.
The feature will definitely simply the sharing process and will come as a boon for events and journey enthusiasts!